THIS GIFT IS A CURSE unleash ‘Wolvking’

THIS GIFT IS A CURSE unleash ‘Wolvking’!

THIS GIFT IS A CURSE have released a video for their new song “Wolvking”. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album ‘A Throne of Ash’, to be released via Season of Mist on June 14. The clip can be viewed HERE

The band states: “The video was made by Magnus Ewald, whom previously worked with a number of artist from the darker side of the Swedish music scene, such as ENTOMBED and THE MYSTERY. It was shot earlier this year, during a three day long blizzard where the band literally got snowed in. The location; a 200 year old barn at premises of the infamous Ghost Cabin of Wånkarbo, surrounded by thick Scandinavian forest and desolated fields. A place where the band have done many of its esthetic work over the years (recordings, videos and craft). This place has become a vital part of the very core of what is This Gift Is A Curse.

The song came about pretty late in the writing process but felt immediately like a song that would be a fitting first “”singel”” to showcase the new record and its sound. In its lyrical theme; a song about the worship of pure hatred. And how to embrace that feeling and canalizing that into a black venomous diamond of rage. Cold and razor sharp, ready so slice the world to pieces for anyone who wields it. The language is full of mythological and esoteric symbols but also hides a more personal story about the hate for one’s own blood and flesh, the Father as well as renouncement and vengeance. Erebos (Ερεβος), whom is called upon over and over again trough out the song; was said to be the very personification of “deep darkness” in Greek mythology, an ancient being born from true chaos. The very same ember that sparks rage into hatred and breathes life into all destructive forces. This is what this song celebrates.”

The artwork and track-list for ‘A Throne of Ash’ have also been unveiled and be viewed below:

1. Hæma (2:38)
2. Blood Is My Harvest (4:54)
3. Thresholds (3:51)
4. Gate Dweller (4:42)
5. Monuments for Dead Gods (6:41)
6. Wolvking (4:52)
7. I am Katharsis (3:11)
8. In Your Black Halo (Mass 317) (5:49)
9. Wormwood Star (7:55)
Total: 48:07

The experience that is ‘A Throne of Ash’ consists of poisoned blood, dying flesh and the dark ash from the charred body of man – both on a physical and astral plane with the underlying notion that nothing that transpires in what we call ‘reality’ has a greater meaning.

THIS GIFT IS A CURSE vomit forth a steady stream of pitch-black venomous hate. The Swedes passionately demonstrate that black metal remains fertile ground for new sounds. Combining elements of hardcore and sludge with influences from occult black metal as well as drone, ‘A Throne of Ash’ sets a new benchmark for vitriolic viciousness and massive sonic onslaught. The third full-length of the band from Stockholm has turned out to be a vision of darkness that seeks its equal.

THIS GIFT IS A CURSE were founded in Stockholm by a fateful chance meeting of vocalist Jonas A. Holmberg and drummer Johan Nordlund in late summer 2008. The duo soon recruited guitarist Patrik Andersson and Lars Gunnarsson on bass. In March 2010 the Swedish four-piece entered the legendary Sunlight Studios (ENTOMBED, KATATONIA, TIAMAT, DISMEMBER and many more) and recorded their self-titled debut EP with the aid of producer Tomas Skogsberg. ‘This Gift Is A Curse’ (2010) was well received in the underground and led to the band being invited to perform many shows in their homeland and Europe. During the second half of 2011, THIS GIFT IS A CURSE recorded their first full-length ‘I, Gvilt Bearer’ at a secret location north of Stockholm. Their producer Magbjork (MELEEH, CHILDREN OF FALL) moved his studio to this specific location to allow the band to unlimited record possibilities. Released in 2012, the album caused a buzz that reached beyond the underground and quickly sold out its first pressings. More touring followed during the next two years. In 2014, THIS GIFT IS A CURSE teamed up with Magbjork once again to record ‘All Hail The Swinelord’ in an abandoned house close to Stockholm.

After the release in 2015, a few Scandinavian and European tours followed before the band decided it was time to go back into the void to write new music. This process started with the recruitment of a second guitarist in order to push the sonic experience even further. David Deravian, hailing from steel town Eskilstuna, joined the cursed ranks of THIS GIFT IS A CURSE in 2016, adding fresh creative blood and new musical input to the sonic pot. As the new material took form, the band not only booked studio time with the great W. Blackmon of the Overlook Studios in Gävle (SE), but also kept their roots by recoding parts of the album at Norra Begravningsplatsen in Stockholm. Including producer MAGBJORK to the whole process once again to get the right ‘grit and grievance’ into the sound. Afterwards, mastering was done by none other than Magnus Lindberg (CULT OF LUNA, TRIBULATION, ALCEST etc).

This new monstrous black beast is a dark journey written in a barrage of heavy and intense riffing, ferocious blast beats, nightmarish soundscapes, ritualistic howls and occult themed vocals. Brace for impact!

P. Andersson: guitar, vocals
D. Deravian: guitar, vocals
L. Gunnarsson: bass, vocals
J. A. Holmberg: vocals
J. Nordlund: drums

Facebook page HERE