NUMENOREAN: European Tour with label mates GAEREA

PARIS-MOVE, December 4th 2019 – Canadian post black metallers NUMENOREAN are about to embark on their first ever European tour with recently signed label mates GAEREA. The tour will kick off tomorrow, on Thursday December 5 in Copenhagen (DK), and sees the bands playing in Germany, Austria, Slovenia, France, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom. The full list of shows can be found below.

NUMENOREAN will be playing in support of their highly acclaimed record ‘Adore’, which was released on April 12, 2019. GAEREA will release their new record on Season of Mist in 2020.

05 Dec 19 Copenhagen (DK) Stengade
06 Dec 19 Aalborg (DK) 1000 FRYD
07 Dec 19 Münster (DE) Wintermelodei Festival
08 Dec 19 Hamburg (DE) Hafenklang
09 Dec 19 Berlin (DE) Badehuis
10 Dec 19 Cologne (DE) Helios
11 Dec 19 Mainz (DE) Schön Schön
12 Dec 19 München (DE) Backstage
14 Dec 19 Graz (AT) Club Q
15 Dec 19 Vienna (AT) Viper Room
16 Dec 19 Koper (SL) Center Mdladih
17 Dec 19 Zürich (CH) Ebrietas Bar
18 Dec 19 Colmar (FR) Le Grillen
19 Dec 19 Haarlem (NL) Patronaat
20 Dec 19 Terneuzen (NL) Podium in Terneuzen
21 Dec 19 London (UK) The Underworld

The cover artwork of ‘Adore’, which has been created by Luca Pierro can be found below, together with the tracklist.

1. Nocebo (02:31)
2. Portrait of Pieces (08:37)
3. Horizon (04:17)
4. And Nothing Was The Same (01:29)
5. Regret (06:56)
6. Stay (02:22)
7. Coma (05:10)
8. Alone (02:01)
9. Adore (08:42)
10. DDHS (01:23)
Total playing time: 0:43:28

Contrasting the bleakness of their debut record ‘Home’, Canadian post-black metal act NUMENOREAN have painted their sophomore effort ‘Adore’ in an array of brighter shades, while never loosing intensity.

Having only released a 2-song demo in 2014, the band got offered a lengthy recording deal by Season of Mist. Soon after, debut record ‘Home’ followed and the underground met NUMENOREAN’s take on post black metal with some critical acclaim, yet also polarizing views, due to the graphic nature of the cover.

With ‘Home’, NUMENOREAN achieved far more than just following a musical path pioneered by DEAFHEAVEN, ALCEST, WOLVES IN THE THRONE ROOM, and DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT. The Canadians crafted a musical masterpiece that embraced beauty, harshness and melancholy in equal measure and transformed those into fragile, nihilistic and hauntingly beautiful songs.

After playing shows with DEAFHEAVEN, GHOST BATH and BATUSKHA in Canada, the United States and Australia, NUMENOREAN set up a crowdfunding campaign to fund the recording of the sophomore album with Josh Schroeder (GHOST BATH).

Forming the antithesis of the previous album, ‘Adore’ adopts a more vibrant approach, both musically and thematically. Rather than seeing life from a nihilistic view, the songs convey a loose message of hope. The lyrics and the theme of the music explore being beat, down and broken, but still finding a way to preserve by finding reasons to appreciate life for what it can be.

NUMENOREAN skilfully employ the feeling of melancholy, an intricate song writing and the black metal roots that marked their debut. Yet the newfound hooks and facets of ‘Adore’, represent a band that has established and evolved sound. ‘Adore’, will be one for the year lists of 2019.

Guitar/Vox – Byron Lemley
Vocals – Brandon Lemley
Guitar/Vocals – Roger LeBlanc
Guitar – Alex Kot
Bass – Tomas Casper Ingham

Recording line-up:
Guitar/Vox – Byron Lemley
Vocals – Brandon Lemley
Guitar/Vocals – Roger LeBlanc
Bass – Alex Kot
Drums – David Horrocks

Facebook page HERE