Crippled Black Phoenix: European spring tour 2019

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX announce European spring tour 2019!

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have announced a European tour in March and April next year. The tour will kick off in The Underworld, London (UK), on March 21 and ends at the Roadburn Festival in the Netherlands, a few weeks later. The band will be supported by SOFT KILL and FOTOCRIME.

21 Mar 19 London (UK) The Underworld
24 Mar 19 Hamburg (DE) Knust
25 Mar 19 Aarhus (DK) Voxhall
26 Mar 19 Stockholm (SE) Kraken
27 Mar 19 Copenhagen (DK) Vega
28 Mar 19 Berlin (DE) BiNuu
29 Mar 19 Dresden (DE) Scheune
30 Mar 19 Prague (CZ) Underdogs
01 Apr 19 Afschaffenburg (DE) Colossaal
02 Apr 19 Martigny (CH) Caves du Manoir
03 Apr 19 Vaureal (FR) Le Forum
04 Apr 19 Strasbourg (FR) La Laiterie
05 Apr 19 Nimes (FR) La Paloma
06 Apr 19 Luzern (CH) Schüür
07 Apr 19 Villingen Schwenningen (DE) Klosterhof
08 Apr 19 Vienna (AT) Arena
09 Apr 19 Munich (DE) Feierwerk
10 Apr 19 Cologne (DE) Luxor
11 Apr 19 Tilburg (NL) Roadburn Festival 2019

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX are touring in support of their full length ‘Great Escape’ which was released on September 14, 2018. The artwork and track-list can be viewed below.

1. You Brought It Upon Yourselves (3:43)
2. To You I Give (9:22)
3. Uncivil War (pt I) (2:50)
4. Madman (4:51)
5. Times, They Are A’Raging (11:58)
6. Rain Black, Reign Heavy (5:58)
7. Slow Motion Breakdown (4:34)
8. Nebulas (5:35)
9. Las Diabolicas (3:49)
10. Great Escape (pt I) (7:36)
11. Great Escape (pt II) (13:03)

‘Great Escape’, this beautiful touch of darkness comes hardly as a surprise, when taking into account that CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX mastermind Justin Greaves has previously gone public about his personal fight against severe depression. Similar dark themes and traits have already been a hallmark of the UK rockers’ latest full-length, ‘Bronze’ (2016).

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have always confounded critics trying to pin their style down ever since founder Justin Greaves recorded his first ideas in 2004 – which earned them tagging attempts ranging from “stoner prog” through “freak folk” to “psychedelic doom”. Despite the wide range of musical leanings within their albums, there are a unifying dark streak and somber melancholy running through the songs. Greaves had already made himself a name as drummer for IRON MONKEY and ELECTRIC WIZARD among others. When the multi-instrumentalist finally decided to stand on his own musical feet, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX was born. This involves a changing cast of musicians and live set-ups which mirrored the ever-ongoing evolution of the band, and the fact that the songs were mostly not composed with a live performance on mind.

Between 2007 and 2014, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX released a string of five critically highly acclaimed studio albums – namely ‘A Love of Shared Disasters’ (2007), ‘The Resurrectionists’ (2009), ‘Night Raider’ (2009), ‘(Mankind) The Crafty Ape’ (2012), and ‘White Light Generator’ (2014). This was complemented by EPs ‘I, Vigilante’ (2010), ‘No Sadness or Farewell’ (2012), and ‘Oh’ Ech-oes’ (2015), the live recording ‘Live Poznan’ (2013), and the ‘200 Tons of Bad Luck’ compilation (2009). Their ‘New Dark Age Tour EP 2015 A.D.’ was the band’s first release on Season of Mist and came with an extensive homage to PINK FLOYD. The strong influence of the UK rock giants could also be felt on ‘Bronze’ (2016), yet while CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX never denied their roots, this outstanding act has long created their own sonic cosmos.

With last year’s ‘Horrific Honorifics’ offering, the band elegantly payed tribute to great artists and classic songs while making those tracks their own in sound and spirit without compromising the integrity of the original masterpieces.

Now with ‘Great Escape’, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX take you on their new adventure and let you explore their sonic cosmos even further, and where all its emotions are reflected on to this earth. From the angry “Rain Black”, to the unnerving “Madman” and forgiving “Nebulas”, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX arise once more.

Justin Greaves – drums and percussion, guitars, bass, samples, saw, backing vocals
Ben Wilsker – drums
Daniel Änghede – guitar, backing vocals.
Jonas Stålhammar – guitar
Tom Greenway – bass
Mark Furnevall – synthesizers, Hammond, backing vocals
Helen Stanley – grand piano, synthesizer, backing vocals, trumpet
Belinda Kordic – vocals, percussion

Guest vocals: Great Escape (Pt I) Belinda Kordic and Daniel Änghede

Recording: Chapel Studio, Lincolnshire
Producer: Justin Greaves
Mixed/Mastered: Tri-Lamb Studio, Karl Daniel Lidén

Cover art: Peder Bergstrand

Facebook page: HERE

On line SHOP: HERE