Crippled Black Phoenix embark on European tour

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX embark on European tour!

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX are about to embark on their European tour in support of their latest release ‘Great Escape’ this Friday. The band will be joined by one man gang THE DEVIL’S TRADE on most dates.

The eclectic British rockers will kick off their road rage at the gebr. de Nobel in the Dutch city Leiden on October 5th, and continue to deliver sweat dripping shows in six more countries until a final curtain at the Temple in Athens, Greece on the 13th.

05 Oct 18 Leiden (NL) Gebr de Nobel*
06 Oct 18 Köln (DE) Euroblast Festival*
07 Oct 18 Budapest (HU) A38*
08 Oct 18 Bratislava (SK) Kulturak Klub
09 Oct 18 Timisoara (RO) Capcana
10 Oct 18 Bucharest (RO) Quantic Club
11 Oct 18 Sofia (BG) Mixtape 5
12 Oct 18 Thessaloniki (GR) Eightball
13 Oct 18 Athens (GR) Temple

*Without The Devil’s Trade

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX are touring in support of their full length ‘Great Escape’ which was released on September 14, 2018 and is streaming in full HERE.

1. You Brought It Upon Yourselves (3:43)
2. To You I Give (9:22)
3. Uncivil War (pt I) (2:50)
4. Madman (4:51)
5. Times, They Are A’Raging (11:58)
6. Rain Black, Reign Heavy (5:58)
7. Slow Motion Breakdown (4:34)
8. Nebulas (5:35)
9. Las Diabolicas (3:49)
10. Great Escape (pt I) (7:36)
11. Great Escape (pt II) (13:03)

‘Great Escape’, this beautiful touch of darkness comes hardly as a surprise, when taking into account that CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX mastermind Justin Greaves has previously gone public about his personal fight against severe depression. Similar dark themes and traits have already been a hallmark of the UK rockers’ latest full-length, ‘Bronze’ (2016).

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have always confounded critics trying to pin their style down ever since founder Justin Greaves recorded his first ideas in 2004 – which earned them tagging attempts ranging from “stoner prog” through “freak folk” to “psychedelic doom”. Despite the wide range of musical leanings within their albums, there are a unifying dark streak and somber melancholy running through the songs. Greaves had already made himself a name as drummer for IRON MONKEY and ELECTRIC WIZARD among others. When the multi-instrumentalist finally decided to stand on his own musical feet, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX was born. This involves a changing cast of musicians and live set-ups which mirrored the ever-ongoing evolution of the band, and the fact that the songs were mostly not composed with a live performance on mind.

Between 2007 and 2014, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX released a string of five critically highly acclaimed studio albums – namely ‘A Love of Shared Disasters’ (2007), ‘The Resurrectionists’ (2009), ‘Night Raider’ (2009), ‘(Mankind) The Crafty Ape’ (2012), and ‘White Light Generator’ (2014). This was complemented by EPs ‘I, Vigilante’ (2010), ‘No Sadness or Farewell’ (2012), and ‘Oh’ Ech-oes’ (2015), the live recording ‘Live Poznan’ (2013), and the ‘200 Tons of Bad Luck’ compilation (2009). Their ‘New Dark Age Tour EP 2015 A.D.’ was the band’s first release on Season of Mist and came with an extensive homage to PINK FLOYD. The strong influence of the UK rock giants could also be felt on ‘Bronze’ (2016), yet while CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX never denied their roots, this outstanding act has long created their own sonic cosmos.

With last year’s ‘Horrific Honorifics’ offering, the band elegantly payed tribute to great artists and classic songs while making those tracks their own in sound and spirit without compromising the integrity of the original masterpieces.

Now with ‘Great Escape’, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX take you on their new adventure and let you explore their sonic cosmos even further, and where all its emotions are reflected on to this earth. From the angry “Rain Black”, to the unnerving “Madman” and forgiving “Nebulas”, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX arise once more.

Style: Dark Rock

Justin Greaves – drums and percussion, guitars, bass, samples, saw, backing vocals
Ben Wilsker – drums
Daniel Änghede – guitar, backing vocals.
Jonas Stålhammar – guitar
Tom Greenway – bass
Mark Furnevall – synthesizers, Hammond, backing vocals
Helen Stanley – grand piano, synthesizer, backing vocals, trumpet
Belinda Kordic – vocals, percussion

Guest vocals: Great Escape (Pt I) Belinda Kordic and Daniel Änghede

Recording: Chapel Studio, Lincolnshire
Producer: Justin Greaves
Mixed/Mastered: Tri-Lamb Studio, Karl Daniel Lidén

Cover art: Peder Bergstrand

Facebook page: HERE